Thursday, 15 November 2012

The Children of Green Knowe (BBC 1986)

"The Children of Green Knowe" was a 4 part BBC Childrens drama serial based on the first book of the "Green Knowe" series by English author Lucy M Boston.

The books centre around the ancestral home of the Oldknowe family, and its seemingly magical ability to make the past come alive and recount the stories of the many generations of the Oldknow family who have lived there.

I remember seeing this series when it originally aired back in 1986, and I know it was repeated once or twice in the late 80s but it has never been released on video or DVD (like many CBBC productions, sadly), but its charming  made enough of an impression on my young mind that I remembered the basic storyline.

The story centres around a young boy named Toseland (or "Tolly" as he prefers), who is sent to stay with his great-grandmother (whom he calls "granny") at the ancestral family home of Green Know. Green Know is an isolated manor house which ends up becoming cut off from the rest of the world during the winter period by flooding, but has stood there for nearly a thousand years.
As Tolly's father is serving in Burma (the series is set during the early years of World War 2), he is eager to see some of his family.
As he explores the house and its grounds, and learns more about his family history from stories told by Granny and the gamekeeper, Mr. Boggins, he begins to encounter the spirits of his ancestors from the period encompassing the reign of King Charles II (who once even visited the village near Green Knowe).
Over the course of his time there, he learns a lot about his family and the history surrounding the house, as well as life lessons from their example.

I was quite pleased to find the series had been uploaded to Youtube, and so here it is, should you wish to watch it...

Episode 1 Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4
Episode 2 Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4
Episode 3 Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4
Episode 4 Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4

No comments:

Post a Comment